Nesrin Danan

This Is Your Zodiac Sign’s Ruling Planet

Every zodiac sign is ruled by a planet and those qualities from each planet have an influence on who we are: how we love, think, communicate, and express ourselves. We know there are seven planets — Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto — but in astrology, we also have the Sun and Moon ruling over certain planets as well. For example, Virgo and Gemini are both ruled by Mercury, the planet of communication, so these two feel the effects of Mercury Retrograde the most.

Knowing which planet rules over your zodiac sign is crucial in understanding your birth chart, who you are, and how you navigate love and life.

Aries – ruled by Mars

Named after the Roman god of war, Mars represents masculinity, passion, and aggression. Aries are typically one to take charge with their high energy, strength, and ambition. The placement of Mars in our chart can help us make sense of how we navigate our sexuality, our ambition, and how we deal with our anger and aggression. This is the planet of hot-headed energy!

Taurus – ruled by Venus

In Greek mythology, Venus was the goddess of love and beauty, and this planet represents just that! Venus is a symbol of feminity, romance, luxury, and pleasure. Taurus’ can be materialistic, only desiring high-quality goods that are worth them indulging in. It’s similar for them in love: slow and steady, they only go after someone if they’re worth it and if they see them as being long-term.

Gemini – ruled by Mercury

Mercury is the planet of communication, which is why it’s like everything goes up into flames on Earth during Mercury Retrograde. Our Mercury sign is how we communicate, express ourselves, and how we think and process new information. Geminis are very intellectual, curious creatures, always floating to new conversations and learning new things.

Cancer – ruled by the Moon

Just like the Moon creates the ocean’s tides, our feelings come and go like waves, big and small. The Moon governs our emotions and rules Cancer, the most sensitive, emotional, nurturing sign of the zodiac. While the Moon has its phases, Cancers can be moody in their own way. It’s important to know your Moon sign because it allows you to understand your feelings and how you express them.

Leo – ruled by the Sun

The Sun is the biggest and brightest star and in the center of our galaxy. It is the “planet” that rules our identity, our confidence, and our self-expression. When talking about our Sun Sign, it’s who we are at our core. Leos are brave, confident, and expressive. Like the sun, Leos are always the center of attention, bringing warmth and positivity to others.

Virgo – ruled by Mercury

Like Gemini, Virgo is ruled by Mercury, the planet of communication and intellect. While Gemini is more communicative, Virgo is more intellectual and analytical. Virgo is a practical, critical earth sign, organizing plans and having a keen eye for detail. It’s important to know your Mercury sign so you have a better understanding of how you communicate with others!

Libra – ruled by Venus

Like Taurus, Libra is ruled by the planet of love, beauty, luxury, and pleasure. Libras deeply desire peace, balance, and beauty in every aspect of their life. They enjoy the finer things in life and strive for harmony in their relationships and friendships. Libras are lovers, not fighters. They deeply desire sensuality and romance and will do whatever they have to do in order to keep things harmonious.

Scorpio – ruled by Pluto and Mars

Scorpio is one of the few zodiacs that is ruled by two planets, Pluto and Mars. Pluto is named after the god of the underworld and represents mystery, depth, and darkness. Scorpios have a reputation for being mysterious, intense, and powerful. They can be power-hungry and cutthroat, and this is where Mars — the planet of aggression and passion — comes in. Scorpios can be jealous and possessive in their relationships and careers.

Sagittarius – ruled by Jupiter

Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter, the planet of good fortune, growth, knowledge, exploration, and spirituality. This fire sign likes to travel, learn new things, and meet new people — they’re not one to be tied down. Sagittarius’ symbol is the “archer,” a centaur pulling back a bow, which represents this sign well with their brave desire for adventure, knowledge, and direction.

Capricorn – ruled by Saturn

Saturn was named after the god of time and is associated with boundaries, structure, commitments, and self-control. Capricorn is an earth sign that values discipline and committment in their partnerships and career. They are more practical than other signs and aren’t very romantic. Instead, they give tough love.

Aquarius – ruled by Uranus

Aquarius is ruled by Uranus, the planet of innovation, revolution, and inspiration. “Uranus” was named after the Greek god of the sky, which makes sense for air sign Aquairus. Aquarians are known for being unique, independent, and in search of the truth. They tend to have a rebellious and “going with the flow” kind of attitude.

Pisces – ruled by Neptune and Jupiter

Pisces is ruled by both Neptune, the planet of illusions and dreams, and Jupiter, the planet of luck, knowledge, and spirituality. Neptune is named after the god of the sea and water sign Pisces is symbolized by two fish swimming in different directions. Pisces are known for being dreamy and artistic (Neptune) but also spiritual and intuitive (Jupiter). This water sign is quite empathetic and perceptive, too.

It’s a good idea to know what your ruling planet is not only because it can determine some of your personality traits, but how you navigate your relationships, the way you communicate, how you go after your dreams, and so much more.